eu-LISA's approach to multilingualism

​​​​​​​​eu-LISA publishes on its website in all official languages of the institutions of the European Union, as required by the Establishing Regulation  (EU No 2018/1726), its:

  • Programming documents,

  • Annual Activity reports,

  • Annual budgets,

  • Lists of competent authorities which are authorised to search directly the data contained in the Schengen Information System,

  • lists of Offices of the national systems of SIS II (N.SIS II) and SIRENE Bureaux,

  • list of designated authorities which have access to data recorded in the Central System of Eurodac (regarding asylum)

  • eu-LISA official replies to ECA's observations to the annual accounts of the Agency.

Various public information material such as leaflets, brochures and factsheets are published in English, French, German and Estonian due to the geographic location of the Agency. The majority of eu-LISA's web content is in English in order to optimise on limited resources and make an efficient use of those available. The Agency introduces linguistic diversity principles gradually, dependent on the resources available and demands presented.

eu-LISA corporate documents are translated by the Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union (CdT), which is located in Luxembourg and provides translation services to all EU agencies.

The official languages of the EU are Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Swedish.

Until 31 December 2021, eu-LISA applied a temporary derogation regarding the Irish language, as defined in the Council Regulation (EC) No 2015/2264 of 3 December 2015 (OJ L 332, 08.12.2015, p. 1)), stating that 'the institutions of the European Union shall not be bound by the obligation to draft all acts in Irish and to publish them in that language in the Official Journal of the European Union', except for regulations adopted jointly by the European Parliament and the Council.​


This information is available in official EU languages here.